Three Months

Seriously?  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again (and again, and again), it feels like we just brought you home yesterday.  Except you can’t wear any of those clothes anymore.  I had my first realization at how big you’re getting when I had to pack away an entire box of clothes that you are too big for.  Just 3 months, and already too big for a lot of clothes.  Truthfully, a lot was too small before now, but I was in complete denial over how big my little boy was getting already.

This month, we both had our first experience with shots – you on the receiving end, and me on the end of having to watch helplessly and do my best to comfort you while you writhed in pain.  I’ve never heard such sounds come out of you until that day.  By and large, you’re an incredibly happy boy unless we’ve gone a little too long between feedings, but even then you’ve never screamed with that kind of pitch or intensity.

Also new this month, you’re going to “school” now.  Your Dad and I call it school because for some reason to us it sounds more polite and acceptable than daycare.  You love it there and the ladies there love you too.  They have nothing but wonderful things to say and more often than not when I pick you up, there are a couple of young girls from the toddler room who need to wave and say good-bye to you as we leave.  Girlfriends, already?  Boy, are we in trouble.  As much as I’d love to stay at home and cuddle with you all day, Mommy needs to go to work so that we can have awesome things in the future.  And, she kind of needs to talk to adults from time to time.  And use those fancy pieces of paper in the big frames that are in the office.  They’re not paid for yet.

Another big development is that you’ve started to sleep through the night.  Consistently.  Just in time for me to return to work, so I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  You see, before you came along, I really needed to sleep 8 hours in order to feel human (and have at least 4 cups of coffee).  So, I’m absolutely thrilled to be back on the upswing of closer to full night’s rest once again.

You’ve started to take after your Mom and have a fondness for books.  Your current favorites: Mirror Me, Brown Bear, Brown Bear, and The Sleep Book.  I’m pretty sure we’re going to wear out the pages before too long, but it couldn’t make me happier.  There’s nothing better than coming home from work and curling up on the couch with you and reading.  I hope this is a tradition that we can continue for a long, long time.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Letters to You, Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

